5-12-19 Marfa, TX

Marfa, TX is pretty unique. You might call it the artistic capital of West Texas, but I suspect both Marfans and W. Texans would object. No matter; it's worth a visit. I went by Marfa last year on the way north from Big Bend, and on the way to Guadalupe Mountains National Park (via Van Horn), but it was nighttime and I hadn't a clue. So this year I got a clue and made a point of visiting Marfa during the day.

Lots of artistic activity around; I spent most of my time at the Chinati Foundation. Totally worth a visit, but only if you're ok with minimalist, non-representational art and installations. I'd never seen or heard the works of any of the artists featured here, most notably its founder, artist Donald Judd. Still was a fascinating and mesmerizing visit.

More Chinati photos here. And a video of the Judd installation, "15 untitled works in concrete, 1980-1984" (with a visitor), here.